Virginia Association of Fundraising Executives

Professional Partnership Program (P3)

Program Overview:


The Professional Partnership Program (P3) will offer VAFRE members an annual opportunity to develop more extensive professional skills and understanding through an optional and self-supporting program. Small groups of approximately 6-8 people (the Partners) which will meet periodically with 2 highly experienced facilitators (the Leaders). VAFRE’s goal is that each team’s Leaders would consist of a male and a female. 

Each group will meet, under the guidance of the Leaders, a minimum for 4 times between October 1 and May 31. Leaders may arrange additional sessions if they desire and the group wishes to do so. 

The purpose of each P3 group is to encourage discussion and comment on those job-related concerns of greatest interest to each group. Issues and topics for each session will be solicited in advance and facilitated by the Leaders. Because of the rather informal nature of this program, it is not expected that participation will qualify for accreditation required for the CFRE certificate.  

The administrative and operational expenses of P3 will be underwritten by a non-refundable annual participation fee paid by Partners. Fees will be paid to VAFRE and do not benefit Leaders, except for the reimbursement of expenses associated with group sessions.


The P3 Program is exclusively sponsored by
West Avenue Associates, LLC.

Submit Your Application for the 2017-2018 P3 Program.

2016 - 2017 Teams

    • Alex Smith & Chris Withers – Leaders
    • Suzanne Hall, St. James Episcopal
    • Kristen Johnson, LINC
    • Jennifer Laughter, Virginia Voice
    • Jodi Leonard, Safe Harbor
    • Wren Wyatt, VCU
    • Dave Johnson & Pam Seay - Leaders
    • Alissa Aronovici, Jewish Family Services
    • Caitlin Barnes, Church Hill Activities & Tutoring
    • Edie Bowles, VCU- Office of the VP of Health Sciences
    • Jordan Pye, U of R School of Professional & Continuing Studies
    • Sean Watterson, Masonic Home
    • Jessica Will, Lewis Ginter
    • Celia Luxmoore & Scott Lyons - Leaders
    • Lauralee Allen, Collegiate School
    • Hannah Miller, Virginia Repertory Theatre
    • Robin Newton, MathScience Innovation Center
    • Samantha Thurman, United Way of Richmond & Petersburg
    • Josi Toothman, Greater Richmond ARC
    • Priscilla Wiggin, VCU Massey Cancer Center

Updated contact information for each team leader and member is available in the Member Directory.


Leaders will be responsible for all communications with their groups as well as for all materials needed for sessions.   Up to $200 in costs, (materials, food, etc,) per group will be reimbursed by submitting receipts to Mary Kidd at 

Check request forms are available here.

© 2017 Virginia Association of Fundraising Executives (VAFRE). All rights reserved.
VAFRE • P.O. Box 6605 • Richmond, VA 23230
Office/Fax (804) 368-3398

Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management